Cooper River History: "Let it be remembered," wrote Thomas Sharp in 1718, "That upon the nineteenth day of September, in the year of our Lord one thousand six hundred and eighty-one, Mark Newby, William Bates, Thomas Thackara, George Goldsmith and Thomas Sharp set sail from the harbor...of Dublin... We took our land in tract together...bounding in the forks of Newton Creek and so over to Cooper's Creek..." Sharp's narrative account of the first permanent European settlement in what is today West Collingswood is the most accurate history of the establishment of Camden County. Today, Cooper River Park (346.55 acres) runs through Pennsauken, Cherry Hill, Collingswood and Haddon Township. North and South Park Drives, Route 130 and Grove St bound the park. Cooper River Park is home to many prestigious rowing events. Ideal rowing conditions exist on the Cooper River, which boasts a world-class, Olympic-distance, 2000 meter narrow and sheltered straightaway. The Camden County Boathouse at Cooper River is located on North Park Drive in Pennsauken. It features six boat bays, public launch facilities, rest rooms, a four story official's tower, two meeting rooms and a banquet room for 200 people.